Friday, June 6, 2014

Dark Metropolis (Dark Metropolis #1)

About the book:
Cabaret meets Cassandra Clare-a haunting magical thriller set in a riveting 1930s-esque world.

Sixteen-year-old Thea Holder's mother is cursed with a spell that's driving her mad, and whenever they touch, Thea is chilled by the magic, too. With no one else to contribute, Thea must make a living for both of them in a sinister city, where danger lurks and greed rules. Thea spends her nights waitressing at the decadent Telephone Club attending to the glitzy clientele. But when her best friend, Nan, vanishes, Thea is compelled to find her. She meets Freddy, a young, magnetic patron at the club, and he agrees to help her uncover the city's secrets-even while he hides secrets of his own.

Together, they find a whole new side of the city. Unrest is brewing behind closed doors as whispers of a gruesome magic spread. And if they're not careful, the heartless masterminds behind the growing disappearances will be after them, too. Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, this is a chilling thriller with a touch of magic where the dead don't always seem to stay that way.

Find Dark Metropolis: Goodreads   Amazon

Review:
I received this book in exchange for an honest review.

When I received the offer to be part of Dark Metropolis' blog tour, I signed on because of several reasons. I like Cassandra Clare, Cabaret, magic, mystery and Disney. After reading the book, I'm glad I signed up. There were twists and turns throughout the book that made the story very interesting.

This is a unique paranormal story. Yes, there are the magical aspects, but there are also the undead creatures. I don't know whether to call the zombies or vampires. They are both and neither at the same time. Zompires? Vambies? The author never called them a specific name, but I like how it is a bit ambiguous.

Freddy gradually became my favorite character in the book. In the beginning he blindly used his magic without asking too many questions. Then Thea helps his character to grow. He discovers the truth about what's really going on, and decides to forge his own path. It can be scary sometimes to turn your back on the ones you love in order to do what is right. In the end, I admired his courage and integrity.

The book switches points of view. Because characters are all around the city and not all at the same place, the multiple POVs helped to really move the story along. This is very important when Thea and Nan are separated above and below ground.

I wish that author Jaclyn Dolamore would have given a bit more detail about what specifically the people below ground were doing. Readers learn that they were running the city and that Nan had to pull levers. I wish that readers could have learned what those levers actually did in running the city as well as what some other jobs were. These are non-important details and wouldn't change the plot of the story. They could have been edited out, but I would have liked to learn more about it.

One thing that surprised me in this book is that there is a girl-on-girl kiss. I am not for or against this, it was just unexpected since this is a Disney-Hyperion published book. The scene was tastefully done an wasn't vulgar at all. Afterward, one of the girls ponders living her life with the other.

This book had aspects that reminded me of the Pushing Daisies television series (think back to 2007-2009). The book has some mystery, action, romance, violence, and lots of drama. Teens and adults who love paranormal stories should give this book a try.

Want to know what others thought about the book? Check out the rest of the Dark Metropolis blog tour!

About author Jaclyn Dolamore:
Jaclyn Dolamore was homeschooled in a hippie sort of way and spent her childhood reading as many books as her skinny nerd-body could lug from the library and playing elaborate pretend games with her sister Kate. She skipped college and spent eight years drudging through retail jobs, developing her thrifty cooking skills and pursuing a lifelong writing dream. She has a passion for history, thrift stores, vintage dresses, David Bowie, drawing, and organic food. She lives with her partner and plot-sounding-board, Dade, and two black tabbies who have ruined her carpeting.

Find Jaclyn:   Website   Twitter   Facebook  


Giveaway:
Enter to win a copy of Dark Metropolis.

a Rafflecopter giveaway